Undateable (LIVE)

If you haven’t seen Undateable on NBC then, I’m sorry it’s never too late to start and if you have and weren’t a fan I’ll pray you get a sense of humour.

For the past year, I’ve been begging my friend to watch this show called Undateable for the simple fact that 1) I have an amazing taste in television, and 2) comedies are his bread and butter, so I thought I’d slather a little bit more on his plate. After months of begging and nagging, he finally took some time and gave it a shot. In 24 hrs time, he had marathoned the whole first season and managed to get caught up on the second season a week before the season finale. Now if that isn’t enough to spark your interest hopefully this is.

IT TAKES PLACE IN A BAR!! In my opinion, all the great shows take place in a bar/diner or at least have scenes that are in a bar. Cheers, The Sopranos, Happy Days, True Blood, and 2 Broke Girls. By no means am I saying that Undateable is the Sopranos of Primetime telly, but there’s just something about the bar atmosphere that makes for some amazing television. Each episode is filled with laughs and awesome chemistry, with such a diverse cast, in terms of representation of characters. From the womanizer to the creepy nerd, the burly gay one, the wimpy lover boy, the chubby lovable one, and the badass divorcee. This show isn’t short on laughs. The first season was enough to get me hooked.

In the second season a new cast mate was introduced and I wasn’t sure how’d she fit into the whole “Ménage à Six” that was going on. I’ve seen her mainly in children’s shows and movies like the Disney comedy Good Luck Charlie, but I wasn’t sure of she’s fit in to this particular sitcom. My uncertainty was soon put at ease. Sure, she played the stereotypical “dumb blonde” but her character was much more than that and there was room enough for her to grow without taking the show into a touchy feely drama it was never meant to be. Keeping the authenticity of the show.

Writers even took it up a notch when they decided to make the season finale of the second season LIVE and unfiltered, it was nothing short of unadulterated laughs. Watching the cast do what they do best, give laughs and having unbelievable chemistry while doing it. Don’t wanna take my word for it? Watch the premiere this Friday October 9!

You’re welcome.

Leave a Reply

